Communities of Practice

Communities of Practice (CoPs)

Sign up NOW for a Fall 2021 Community of Practice! 

Note: The application deadline has been extended to Thursday, September 30, 2021! 

Registration is now open to participate in one of seven communities of practice (CoPs) convening this fall. Campus Compact CoPs offer community engagement practitioners from across the country a platform and space for shared learning and collegial support to advance their engagement practice in a manner characterized by equity and integrity. Each CoP focuses on a specific domain of higher education community engagement practice.

Fall 2021 CoPs will commence in late September and conclude by early December. Applicants commit to attend six regularly-scheduled, 90-minute virtual group sessions. There is no fee to participate in a CoP. Preference is given to individuals affiliated with Campus Compact member institutions.

Fall 2021 CoP offerings, including times and dates of meetings, are listed below. 

APPLY HERE

What is a CoP?

A CoP is a learning community, or collegial network, that Campus Compact defines as “a group of people who share interest in an area of inquiry and engage in collective learning about that issue as it relates to their work or practice. Through discussions, joint activities, and relationship building, the community of practice develops a shared and individual repertoire of resources, skills, and knowledge to use in their practice.” (MN Campus Compact).

CoPs provide community engagement professionals an opportunity to “dig deeper” into specific areas of engagement practice by sharing experiences and models, networking, and exchanging resources. CoPs also can support individuals wishing to earn core competency credentials in community engagement by offering : (a) space to share, reflect on, and build your knowledge around key competencies that one is are expected to demonstrate to earn certification, and (b) a valued cohort for collegial support as you reflect on your professional practice and prepare portfolios to submit as part of the credentialing application process.

Campus Compact-approved CoPs are free-of-charge for participants and are designed to be democratic and embrace the following equity-based principles: that (a) everyone has knowledge to share, (b) everyone has learning to do, and (c) participants bring many identities and ways of knowing and that such diverse expressions should be encouraged and incorporated into CoP activities.

Fall 2021 CoP offerings

1. Community Engagement Fundamentals – Option 1

A focus on the foundations of the field and the breadth of community-engaged work

Co-facilitators:

Brian Kurisky, Virginia Wesleyan University
Conway Saylor, The Citadel

MEETING DATES:  Biweekly from 11:00 am – 12:30 pm ET on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, September 28
  • Tuesday, October 12
  • Tuesday, October 26
  • Tuesday, November 9
  • Tuesday, November 23
  • Tuesday, December 7

2. Community Engagement Fundamentals – Option 2

A focus on the foundations of the field and the breadth of community-engaged work

Co-facilitators:

Taylor Hibel, Stetson University

Clayton Hurd, Campus Compact

MEETING DATES: Biweekly from 12 noon – 1:30 pm ET on the following dates:

  • Monday, September 27
  • Monday,  October 11
  • Monday, October 25
  • Monday, November 8
  • Monday, November 22
  • Monday, Dec 6

3. Community Engaged Teaching & Learning  – Option 1

A focus on competencies to effectively facilitate curricular community-engaged learning experiences that are beneficial to students and community

Co-facilitators:

Loren Collins, Humboldt State University

Sheila R. Grigsby, University of Missouri-St. Louis

MEETING DATES: Biweekly from 1: 30pm – 3:00 pm ET on the following dates:

  • Thursday, October 7
  • Thursday, October 21
  • Thursday, November 4
  • Thursday, November 18
  • Thursday, December 2
  • Thursday, December 16

4. Community Engaged Teaching & Learning  – Option 2

A focus on competencies to effectively facilitate curricular community-engaged learning experiences that are beneficial to students and community

Co-facilitators:

Colin Adams, Berkshire Community College

Jessica Mann, Duquesne University

MEETING DATES: Biweekly from 4: 00pm – 5:30 pm ET on the following dates:

  • Monday, October 4
  • Monday, October18
  • Monday, November 1
  • Monday, November 15
  • Monday, November 29
  • Monday, December 6

5. Community Partnerships

A focus on competencies to create and maintain mutually-beneficial and reciprocal partnerships

Co-facilitators:

Rebekah Go, St. Mary’s College

Candace Maxian, Cornell University

MEETING DATES:  From 12 noon to 1:30 pm ET on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, October 6
  • Wednesday, October 20
  • Wednesday, November 3
  • Wednesday, November 17
  • Wednesday, December 5
  • Wednesday, December 15

6. Engaged Research

A focus on engaging in ethical and reciprocal research with communities

Co-facilitators:

Barrett Brenton, Binghamton University

Kristi Wood-Turner, West Virginia University

MEETING DATES: From 12 noon – 1:30 pm ET on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, September 28
  • Tuesday, October 12
  • Tuesday, October 26
  • Tuesday, November 2
  • Tuesday, November 16
  • Tuesday, November 30

7. Supporting Engaged Faculty Development 

A focus on competencies to effectively support and facilitate professional development related to community-engaged learning and research

Co-facilitators:

Julia Heinen, California State University, Northridge

Haley Winston, University of Central Florida

MEETING DATES: From 1:00pm – 2:30pm ET on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, October 5
  • Tuesday, October 26
  • Tuesday, November 9
  • Tuesday, November 23
  • Tuesday, November 30
  • Tuesday December 7

APPLY HERE

The deadline to apply is THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 30, 2021!