Communities of Practice for the Credentialing Program

Communities of Practice (CoPs)

Call for Participants for Summer 2021 CoPs

On a quarterly basis, Campus Compact offers community engagement practitioners the opportunity to participate in a variety of Communities of Practice (CoPs) covering a range of core competency areas in civic and community engagement. CoPs provide a space for shared learning and collegial support for professionals seeking to advance their engagement practice in a manner characterized by equity and integrity.

The deadline to apply for a Summer 2021 CoP has passed. A call for applications for fall 2021 offerings will be posted in early August. 

More specific information about this summer’s CoP topics, times/dates, and co-facilitators can be found below. CoPs will commence in late June and conclude by the end of August. Applicants commit to attend six regularly-scheduled, 90-minute virtual group sessions. There is no fee to participate in a CoP. Preference is given to individuals affiliated with Campus Compact member institutions.

What is a CoP?

A CoP is a learning community, or collegial network, that Campus Compact defines as “a group of people who share interest in an area of inquiry and engage in collective learning about that issue as it relates to their work or practice. Through discussions, joint activities, and relationship building, the community of practice develops a shared and individual repertoire of resources, skills, and knowledge to use in their practice.” (MN Campus Compact).

CoPs provide community engagement professionals an opportunity to “dig deeper” into specific areas of engagement practice by sharing experiences and models, networking, and exchanging resources. CoPs also can support individuals wishing to earn core competency credentials in community engagement by offering : (a) space to share, reflect on, and build your knowledge around key competencies that one is are expected to demonstrate to earn certification, and (b) a valued cohort for collegial support as you reflect on your professional practice and prepare portfolios to submit as part of the credentialing application process.

Campus Compact-approved CoPs are free-of-charge for participants and are designed to be democratic and embrace the following equity-based principles: that (a) everyone has knowledge to share, (b) everyone has learning to do, and (c) participants bring many identities and ways of knowing and that such diverse expressions should be encouraged and incorporated into CoP activities.

Summer 2021 CoP offerings

1. Community Engagement Fundamentals – Option 1

A focus on the foundations of the field and the breadth of community-engaged work

Co-facilitators:

Sarah Beth Dempsey, Saint Mary’s College of CA
Varsha Ghosh, Harvard College

MEETING DATES:  From 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm EST on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, June 23
  • Wednesday, June 30
  • Wednesday, July14
  • Wednesday, July 28
  • Wednesday, August 11
  • Wednesday, August 25

2. Community Engagement Fundamentals – Option 2

A focus on the foundations of the field and the breadth of community-engaged work

Co-facilitators:

Julia Heinen, California State University, Northridge

Allison Kinney-Walker, Nebraska Methodist College

MEETING DATES: From 11:30 am – 1:00 pm EST on the following dates:

  • Friday, June 25
  • Friday, July 9
  • Friday, July 16
  • Friday, July 30
  • Friday, August 6
  • Friday, August 20

3. Community Engaged Teaching & Learning 

A focus on competencies to effectively facilitate curricular community-engaged learning experiences that are beneficial to students and community

Co-facilitators:

Loren Collins, Humboldt State University

Sheila R. Grigsby, University of Missouri-St. Louis

MEETING DATES: From 1: 30pm – 3:00 pm EST on the following dates:

  • Thursday, July 1
  • Thursday, July 15
  • Thursday, July 29
  • Thursday, August 5
  • Thursday, August 19
  • Thursday, September 2

4. Community Partnerships – Option 1

A focus on competencies to create and maintain mutually-beneficial and reciprocal partnerships

Co-facilitators:

Jabari Bodrick, University of South Carolina

Elena Vasquez, Brown University

MEETING DATES:  From 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm EST on the following dates:

  • Friday, June 18
  • Friday, July 2
  • Friday, July 9
  • Friday, July 16
  • Friday, July 23
  • Friday, July 30\

5. Engaged Research

A focus on engaging in ethical and reciprocal research with communities

Co-facilitators:

Kathy Sikes, Duke University

Mark Wagner, Worcester State University

MEETING DATES: Bi-weekly from 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm EST on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, June 16
  • Wednesday, June 30
  • Wednesday, July 14
  • Wednesday, July 28
  • Wednesday, August 11
  • Wednesday, August 25

6. Program Administration

A focus on managing and administering an effective community engagement program

Co-facilitators:

Sara Gruppo, Princeton University
Shiney James, Boston University

MEETING DATES: From 3:00pm – 4:30 pm EST on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, June 26
  • Tuesday, July 6
  • Tuesday, July 20
  • Tuesday, August 3
  • Tuesday, August 17
  • Tuesday, August 31

7. Supporting Engaged Faculty Development 

A focus on competencies to effectively support and facilitate professional development related to community-engaged learning and research

Co-facilitators:

Theresa Cusimano, Bucknell University
Ryan Solomon, University of Chicago

MEETING DATES: From 2:00pm – 3:30pm on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, June 30
  • Wednesday, July 7
  • Wednesday, July 14
  • Wednesday, July 28
  • Wednesday, August 4
  • Wednesday, August 11